Your Math Gal


My Most Popular Posts

Follow my blog by Email

Friday, January 09, 2009

History of the TAKS Test

History of TAKS Development

In 1999 the 76th Session of the Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 103, mandating implementation of a new statewide testing program. The new testing requirements, subsequently named the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills, were implemented in spring 2003. By law, all eligible Texas public school students are assessed in mathematics in grades 3–10 and exit level; reading in grades 3–9; writing in grades 4 and 7; English language arts in grades 10 and exit level; science in grades 5, 8, 10, and exit level; and social studies in grades 8, 10, and exit level. Eligible students may meet testing requirements with Spanish versions of the TAKS assessments, available in mathematics at grades 3–6, in reading at grades 3–6, in writing at grade 4, and in science at grade 5.

To learn more, click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment